5 Tips to Improve Family Life

Mudassir Hussain
5 min readAug 24, 2023

Families are Forever

Photo by Juan Carballo Diaz on Unsplash

My philosophy of life is based on a triangle.

The three corners of the triangle represent Myself, My work and My Family. Things within the triangle are relevant to me, things outside are none of my business.

This simple concept helps me make important decisions in life. Anything I do should positively affect the three sides.

A while ago I realised that me and my work was taking priority over the family. This might also be true for you at the moment. We all intend to spend time with family but often omit it for the sake of work.

The realization came when I noted the high screen time of kids on YouTube. It shocked me. They were spending six hours in school, 8 hours sleeping and the major chunk of the rest in front of screens.

My initial instinct was to put limits on their screens. However, I noted that my own screen time was even higher. Now it made sense.

Its not their mistake, its actually mine.

If I spend less time with them they are going to spend more time on screen.

This pushed me to change the situation. The following steps helped me improve for the better

1. Putting cell phone away

--

--

Mudassir Hussain

Medical professional interested in human behaviour and society. I like to write about personal experience, healthcare, politics and self growth.